My PR Professional

While Hannah Truscott may seem young don’t let her age fool you. Truscott is only 21 years-old but she has already accomplished more in her young life than may people that I know. A dream Truscott had growing up was to run her own magazine which is already taking flight. LIOL, which stands for Love In Other Languages. Her magazine is informing people on different non -profit organizations and letting you know how YOU can change the world. While the magazine is in its developmental stage it has already made an impact. LIOL has also had the chance to interview with many big named bands and artist due to Truscott’s job working with Easterfest.

Where did you go to school and what was your major?
I’m Australian so its not always very common to go to a big University. After high school I moved to New Zealand and worked as an intern for a record company who also has a big festival every year called Parachute Music.
I then moved back to Australia and ran promotions for a big festival called Easterfest. Soon after I moved to Nashville for a summer and worked with some different organizations.

When I returned I was offered a scholarship to study Marketing & Events management at APM school in Brisbane.
Where I now have an advanced diploma.

What does a typical week look like for you?
As my magazine is brand new and still building a database I work 2 jobs and work in LIOL whenever I can.
The jobs I do work in allow me time to work on LIOL.
I also organize events, do a lot of photography for people.
So NO week is usually the same.

What do you wish you would have known before starting your career in PR?
More about printing!
But its good because its something I can always learn as I go. Also I have people I know whose advice I trust.

How important is writing in your career?
In mine its not important…unless its just Twitter/Facebook updates.
I have a large amount of people who are willing to offer their time to write for me.
At this early stage in the magazine its mainly all online interviews (video) and events which we run monthly.

What three tips would you offer someone just starting out in PR?

  1. Be willing to take advice from ANYONE! and don’t take it as criticism.
  2. Always be open to new ways to doing things. (Technology is crazy)
  3. Try networking in a way that isn’t forceful. Be passionate about your organization and people will WANT to know.

Did your education prepare you for working in PR? How?
Yes and no. I found all the hands on experience to be very useful and some of our lecturers new what they were talking about as they were from professions not actual teachers.

Sometimes the professional’s couldn’t relay everything to us in a way that we could take on, as they were not trained teachers. But overall I learned a lot of great stuff but from personal experience all hands on work you can get take it!

How does technology affect your daily work?
(What forms of social media do you use)
YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and Skype. These websites help me stay connected with the world. I stay on them 24/7. It’s amazing how much technology can help with any kind of organization.

Are you involved in any professional PR organizations?
Yes in Australia and a few in America. I’m more so involved with NOT FOR PROFIT organizations because its primarily what my magazines focus is on.

4 responses

  1. I think it is amazing that Truscott has done so much at a young age. I’ll be turning 21 in the next couple of months and I can’t imagine starting my own magazine! Kudos to her!
    Sam I like how you included a photo. It adds a lot to the blog post of the interview.
    I liked her tips. I think it hard sometimes for us to take advice/criticism. Being open to technology is definitely important. Everything keeps changing but to be working in media we have to stay on top of it.
    Again interesting interview! It was good to hear Truscott’s insight.

    October 27, 2010 at 3:26 pm

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments « Getting Started

  3. This was a great PR connection. It is so encouraging to know that some one so young can actually have their dreams come true. Often times we are told that our dream jobs will have to come later in life; when we have gained more experience and have paid our dues. That is sound advice but clearly, from the interview that Hannah did, it isn’t always the case. I think to obtain our dream jobs, we need to believe in them and do nothing short of stopping until we reach them. This post really was a motivator for me. Thanks for posting it and reminding us all that our dreams can be in our reach as long as we extend are arm and reach for it.

    October 29, 2010 at 10:04 pm

  4. Her own magazine? that is very impressive at any age, especially at the tender age of 21. I am so glad you got to sit down and interview with her because she seems to have alot of passion and determination to impart to others looking on making a similiar impact. I learned alot from this inerview and the advice she gave, I also was impressed by her experience in the field before much formal schooling. I think it is interesting that my PR professional does not deal with any form of social media and yet yours has a position more focused on that specific aspect. Great Job!

    November 5, 2010 at 5:52 am

Leave a Reply

